The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle

The Family of Man comprises 503 photographs by 273 artists from 68 countries and was created by Edward Steichen for the New York Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Presented for the first time in 1955, the exhibition was conceived as a manifesto for peace and the fundamental equality of mankind, expressed through the humanist photography of the post-war years.Images by artists such as Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander and Ansel Adams were staged in a modernist and spectacular manner.

Having toured the globe and been displayed in over 150 museums worldwide, the final, complete version of the exhibition was permanently installed in Clervaux Castle in 1994. Since its creation, The Family of Man has attracted over 10 million visitors and entered the history of photography as a legendary exhibition. In 2003, the collection was listed on the UNESCO Memory of the World register.

After a period of restoration of the original photographic prints and the renovation of the exhibition rooms - an installation signed by the interior designer Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY) and under the direction of the Department of National Sites and Monuments (SSMN) - the museum reopened its doors at the beginning of July.

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Model of the new installation by NJOY
CNA/Romain Girtgen

Practical information

Opening Hours

From 1 March to 1 January Wednesday to Sunday
from 12:00 to 18:00
Closed on Monday and Tuesday, except public holidays
Wednesday to Sunday mornings from 9:00 to 12:00 reserved for groups and educational activities.

Entrance fees

Normal rate: €6
Reduced rate: €4
Free up to 21 years of age
Entrance fee includes use of a multimedia guide (iPad mini).

Multimedia guide

The use of the iPad mini provides visitors with an audio guide, which also features interviews and further information on the collection, its history and layout, as well as video documents. The iPad guide is available in French, German and English.

Guided tours

Free guided tour every Sunday at 15:00.

on request in Luxembourgish, French, German, English or Dutch.
Fee: 50€
To make a reservation, please see the contact information below.

Documentation centre

The documentation centre can be accessed during the exhibition's opening hours and holds a large selection of current and historical documents relating to the collection, Edward Steichen and the photographers who participated in the exhibition. Documents can be consulted on the spot.

Press contact Anne-Laure Letellier (head of communication) T. +352 52 24 24 282 - anne-laure.letellier@cna.etat.lu Anke Reitz

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Visitors with multimedia guide

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Shop at the museum

Historical summary

1955: exhibition of The Family of Man at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York

1955-1962: travelling exhibition, seen by 10 million people throughout the world

1964-1966: The US Government donates the last complete version of the travelling exhibition to Luxembourg. Edward Steichen visits his native country and expresses his wish for The Family of Man to be exhibited permanently at Clervaux Castle.

1974-1989: partial exhibition of the photographs at Clervaux Castle

1990s: restoration of the historical photographs

1994 (-2010): establishment of the collection as a permanent exhibition at Clervaux Castle

2003: inscription on the UNESCO Memory of the World register

September 2010: closure of the exhibition for renovation purposes

July 2013: reopening following renovation of exhibition rooms and restoration of photographs 

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle (1994-2010).
CNA/Raoul Somers

The Family of Man at Clervaux Castle (1994-2010).
CNA/Raoul Somers

3D model of the new installation at Clervaux Castle by NJOY

New installation 2013.
CNA/Romain Girtgen

New installation 2013
CNA/Romain Girtgen

The historical collection in a contemporary context

The collection The Family of Man has enjoyed an eventful history, drawing 10 million visitors and
prompting enthusiastic and critical reactions alike. It constitutes an exceptional legacy that never ceases to generate stories and research.


The exhibition was created by Edward Steichen as a collection of snapshots and emotions that aimed to convey a message of peace in the midst of the Cold War. While the collection still bears the traces of its context of creation, visitor reactions continue to reflect the impact of these images, which remain relevant to this day. Some have even become icons in the history of photography.


According to Edward Steichen himself, The Family of Man was the most significant work of his career. In a manner that was both unusual and visionary at the time, the collection condensed his approach to photography as well as his understanding of settings: the photographs were chosen according to their capacity of communication, while the layout allowed visitors to immerse themselves in a photographic essay. The collection embodies an astonishing summary of Steichen's career as an exhibition curator at MoMA.


To exhibit this heritage today calls for a deference to history and an almost archaeological approach: the course of the exhibition and the chronology of the images have been respected and follow the layout of the original exhibition at MoMA in order to recreate the visitor experience and the effect the images has on them. This approach nevertheless demanded a shift away from history, resulting in the exhibition rooms featuring a very sober architecture, which has been conceived by the designer Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY). The exhibition concept also includes the new media platform of the iPad mini, which accompanies visitors on their tour, giving them access to
documents on the history of the original exhibition and its layout, as well as on the photographers
themselves and Edward Steichen.

Model of the new installation by NJOY.
CNA/Romain Girtgen

3D model of the new installation by NJOY

Restoration of the original photographs

The collection The Family of Man is composed of original prints dating from 1955, all in black and
white and glued onto wood frames. The formats vary, ranging from 24 x 36 cm to 300 x 400 cm.
These photographs have endured a long and turbulent history: from being exhibited throughout
the world to being transported without packaging, handled by humans ... The damage that this history left on the prints was treated in a  first large-scale restoration campaign, launched during the early 1990s by the CNA.

But also 16 years of permanent exhibition at Clervaux Castle left its marks on the artworks. Marks that can be treated in a restoration process in order to consolidate the original photographs and prepare them to their new exhibition period at Clervaux Castle. Recent developments in the science and tools used in photography restoration enabled a state-of-the-art analysis and treatment of the photographs to be carried out. A lot of the damage noted was able to be dealt with thanks to restoration treatments such as cleaning, consolidation and retouching.

The restoration has been carried out in collaboration with the Studio Berselli from Milan, Italy (Silvia  Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

 

 

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Silvia Berselli

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Silvia Berselli

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Francesca Vantellini

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Roberta Piantavigna

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Roberta Piantavigna

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Francesca Vantellini

The renovation

The exhibition rooms of the medieval castle that housed the collection for 16 years were renovated in collaboration with the interior designer Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY) and under the direction of the Department of National Sites and Monuments. On the one hand the works aim at to reinforcing security and improving the conservation of the photographs. On the other, the exhibition space is extended and the visitor's journey through the exhibition being rethought.

The renovation project of the exhibition rooms goes hand in hand with contemporary thoughts on the new design of this historical collection and how to accompany today's visitor through The Family of Man. While the historical framework of the exhibition is respected, the choice of the design or the didactic material is resolutely modern.

A project by the Ministry of Culture and its cultural institutes: CNA & Department of National Sites and Monuments (contracting owner). In collaboration with the Administration of Public Buildings. Architecture and design: NJOY. Exhibition concept: CNA.

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Contact

THE FAMILY OF MAN
Clervaux Castle
PB 31
L-9701 Clervaux
Luxembourg

Tel.: +352 92 96 57
Fax: +352 92 96 58
Mail: fom@cna.etat.lu

Clervaux - cité de l'image

"Clervaux - cité de l'image" is a cultural programme with a focus on the photographic medium.

The historical collection "The Family of Man" forms the basis of this initiative: the world-renowned exhibition encourages a confrontation with contemporary productions. As a result, the dissemination of contemporary photography in the region constitutes one of the fundamental priorities of the programme "Clervaux - cité de l'image".

It offers various projects - temporary exhibitions, workshops, an artist residency, conferences - in a bid to highlight the identity of the town as a "cité de l'image".

The main project is entitled "Jardins" and involves several open-air photography installations, freely accessible and dispersed throughout the town, encouraging visitors to an encounter with photography, contemplation and exchange.

www.clervauximage.lu

start your
visit here ...

The Family of Man au Château de Clervaux

La collection The Family of Man se compose de 503 photographies de 273 auteurs originaires de 68 pays, rassemblées par Edward Steichen pour le Museum of Modern Art de New York (MoMA). Présentée pour la première fois en 1955, l'exposition se veut un manifeste pour la paix et l'égalité fondamentale des hommes à travers la photographie humaniste d'après-guerre. Les images d'auteurs tels que Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Dorothea Lange, Robert Doisneau, August Sander, Ansel Adams, ... sont mises en scène d'une manière moderniste et spectaculaire.

Après un voyage autour du monde dans plus de 160 musées, la dernière version intégrale de l'exposition est installée en 1994 au Château de Clervaux de façon permanente. Depuis sa création The Family of Man a attiré plus de 10 millions de visiteurs et entre ainsi dans l'histoire de la photographie comme exposition légendaire. Depuis 2003, elle fait partie des documents inscrits dans le registre de la Mémoire du Monde de l'UNESCO.

Après une phase de restauration des photographies historiques et le réaménagement des salles d'exposition, signée par la muséographe Nathalie Jacoby (NJOY) et sous la maîtrise d'ouvrage du Service des sites et monuments nationaux (SSMN), le musée a rouvert ses portes début juillet.

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Modèle de la nouvelle installation par NJOY

Informations pratiques

Heures d'ouverture:

Du 1er mars au 1er janvier (fermeture annuelle du 2 janvier au 28 février)
Du mercredi au dimanche de 12h à 18h
Fermés les lundis et mardi, sauf jours fériés
Visites guidées en dehors des heures d'ouverture possibles sur demande.

Tarifs:

Plein tarif : 6€
Tarif réduit : 4€
Gratuit jusqu'à 21 ans
La mise à disposition du guide multimédia est incluse dans le tarif d'entrée.

Guide multimédia:

La visite sur Ipad mini propose au visiteur un parcours audio de base, complété par des interviews, des informations supplémentaires sur la collection, son histoire et son parcours, ainsi que des documents vidéo. La visite sur Ipad mini est disponible en français, allemand et anglais.

Visites guidées:

visite guidée gratuite tous les dimanches à 15h.

sur demande en luxembourgeois, français, allemand, anglais et néerlandais.
Tarif: 50€
Pour la réservation, remplissez le formulaire en bas de page ou veuillez nous contacter.

Espace de documentation:

L'espace de documentation est accessible aux heures d'ouvertures de l'exposition et présente un large choix de documents actuels et historiques en relation avec la collection, Edward Steichen et les photographes qui ont participé à l'exposition. Consultation des ouvrages sur place.

Comment venir:

Nous vous mettons un plan à disposition, téléchargeable ci-dessous.

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Visiteurs avec guide multimédia

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Visiteurs avec guide multimédia

CNA/Romain Girtgen

La boutique du musée

Petit historique

1955 : première présentation de l'exposition The Family of Man au Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York

1955-1962 : exposition itinérante, visitée par 10 millions de personnes dans le monde entier

1964-1966 : Edward Steichen visite son pays natal et exprime le voeu que The Family of Man soit exposée de façon permanente au Château de Clervaux. Le gouvernement américain fait don de la dernière version intégrale itinérante au Luxembourg.

1974-1989 : exposition partielle des photographies au Château de Clervaux

années 1990 : restauration des photographies historiques

1994 (-2010) : installation de la collection en tant qu'exposition permanente au Château de Clervaux

2003 : inscription au registre de la Mémoire du Monde de l'UNESCO

Septembre 2010 : fermeture de l'exposition pour rénovation

Juillet 2013 : réouverture après la rénovation des salles d'exposition et la restauration des

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

© 2012. Digital image, The Museum of Modern Art, New
York/Scala, Florence

The Family of Manau Château de Clervaux (1994-2010)
© CNA/Raoul Somers

The Family of Man au Château de Clervaux (1994-2010)
© CNA/Raoul Somers

Modèle 3D de la nouvelle installation
© NJOY

Nouvelle installation de l'exposition au Château de Clervaux.
CNA/ROmain Girtgen

Nouvelle installation de l'exposition au Château de Clervaux.
CNA/ROmain Girtgen

La collection historique dans une perspective contemporaine

L'histoire mouvementée de la collection The Family of Man, ses 10 millions de visiteurs, les réactions enthousiastes et critiques font d'elle un patrimoine exceptionnel qui ne cesse de produire récits et recherches.

L'exposition a été conçue par Edward Steichen comme une collection d'instantanés et d'émotions qui visent à faire passer un message de paix en pleine Guerre Froide. Bien qu'elle témoigne du contexte de sa création, les réactions des visiteurs témoignent encore aujourd'hui de l'impact de ces images toujours d'actualité - et dont certaines sont devenues des icônes de l'histoire de la photographie.

De l'aveu même d'Edward Steichen, The Family of Man est l'oeuvre la plus importante de sa carrière. Elle est à la fois insolite et visionnaire pour l'époque, tant par son approche photographique que scénographique : les photographies sont choisies selon leur puissance évocatrice, tandis que la scénographie immerge le visiteur dans un essai photographique. Elle résume d'une manière étonnante la carrière de Steichen en tant que commissaire d'expositions au MoMA.

Exposer aujourd'hui ce patrimoine demande de respecter l'histoire et d'observer une position quasi archéologique : le parcours de l'exposition et la chronologie des images ont été respectées et s'alignent sur la mise en scène de l'originale présentée au MoMA afin de pouvoir restituer l'expérience du visiteur et l'impact que les images exercent sur lui. Cette approche requiert cependant une distance prise par rapport à l'histoire qui se traduit à Clervaux par une architecture très sobre des salles d'exposition qui a été conçue par la muséographe Nathalie Jacoby du bureau NJOY. Par ailleurs, une nouvelle forme de médiation via tablette numérique (Ipad mini) fait partie du concept de l'exposition. Le visiteur sera ainsi accompagné dans son parcours et aura accès à une documentation sur l'histoire de l'exposition initiale, son parcours, les photographes de The Family of Man et sur Edward Steichen.

CNA/Romain Girtgen
Maquette par NJOY

Vue 3D de la nouvelle installation
© NJOY

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

La restauration des photographies

La collection The Family of Man est composée de tirages originaux de 1955, tous noir et blanc et collées sur des panneaux en bois. Les formats sont divers, allant de 24x36 cm à 300x400 cm. Ces photographies ont une longue histoire, fort mouvementée: différentes expositions à travers le monde, des transports sans emballage, des usages par l'homme ... Les dégâts qui en coulaient étaient traités dans grande première campagne de restauration dans les années 1990.

Mais également les 16 années d'exposition permanente à Clervaux ont laissé des traces sur les images. Des traces qu'on peut traiter dans la restauration, afin de (re)donner une stabilité à l'oeuvre. Afin de préparer donc les photographies historiques à leur nouvelle période d'exposition, elles ont toutes été restaurées et consolidées. Le développement des sciences et des outils dans la restauration photographique a permis d'analyser et de traiter les photographies avec les meilleures technologies actuelles. Une grande partie des altérations constatées ont pu être soignées par les traitements de restauration tels que le nettoyage, la consolidation et la retouche.

La restauration a été effectuée en collaboration avec le Studio Berselli de Milan, Italie (Silvia Berselli, Roberta Piantavigna, Francesca Vantellini, Isabel Dimas).

 

 

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Silvia Berselli

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Silvia Berselli

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Francesca Vantellini

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Roberta Piantavigna

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Roberta Piantavigna

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Francesca Vantellini

Le projet de réaménagement

C'est Edward Steichen lui-même qui aurait choisi le Château de Clervaux comme lieu d'exposition pour ce qu'il considérait l'œuvre la plus importante de sa carrière. Après une présentation partielle des images de la collection The Family of Man au milieu des années 1970, en 1994 l'exposition trouve sa place définitive au château.

La rénovation des salles d'exposition en collaboration avec le bureau NJOY et sous la maîtrise d'ouvrage du Service des sites et monuments nationaux, vise d'une part à renforcer la sécurité des locaux et à améliorer l'environnement de conservation des photographies. D'autre part l'espace d'exposition est étendu et le parcours du visiteur repensé. Le défi était donc de rénover les espaces d'exposition tout en respectant le passé historique du château et le parcours historiquement défini de l'exposition.

Revalorisée, la collection prend maintenant place dans une muséographie très discrète qui est respectueuse du passé et qui tel un archéologue expose ses fragments dans une lumière actuelle.

Un projet du Ministère de la Culture et de ses instituts culturels:
CNA & Service des Sites et Monuments Nationaux (maîtrise d'ouvrage).
En collaboration avec l'Administration des Bâtiments Publics.
Architecture et scénographie: NJOY.
Concept d'exposition: CNA.

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

Contact

THE FAMILY OF MAN
Château de Clervaux
B.P. 31
L-9701 Clervaux
Luxembourg

Tél.: +352 92 96 57
Fax: +352 92 96 58
Courriel: fom@cna.etat.lu

Clervaux - cité de l'image

« Clervaux - cité de l'image » est un programme culturel concentré sur le medium photographique.

La collection historique « The Family of Man » est à la base de cette initiative: L'exposition de renommée mondiale incite à une confrontation avec des productions contemporaines. C'est ainsi que la diffusion de la photographie actuelle dans la région constitue une des préoccupations fondamentales du programme « Clervaux - cité de l'image ».

Il propose différents projets - des expositions temporaires, des ateliers, une résidence d'artiste, des conférences - afin de mettre en évidence l'identité de la localité en tant que « cité de l'image ».

Le projet principal est intitulé "Jardins": plusieurs installations photographiques en plein air, librement accessibles, sont réparties à travers la ville, invitant tout visiteur à la rencontre avec la photographie, à la contemplation et à l'échange.

www.clervauximage.lu

CNA/Romain Girtgen

CNA/Romain Girtgen

commencez
la visite ici ...